Skip Header Navigation

RBC Congratulates the 2009 Talent Lab Participants

As a proud sponsor and the official bank of the Toronto International Film Festival, RBC is pleased to announce an exciting new partnership with TIFF Talent Lab (opens new window) and the introduction of the RBC Emerging Filmmakers Competition.

TIFF Talent Lab holds an open call for entries to aspiring filmmakers and then selects 25 for the opportunity to network and learn from some of the most revered filmmakers and artists in the world during an intensive four-day program.

After participating in TIFF Talent Lab, the 25 filmmakers are asked to develop a 3-4 minute short film for the RBC Emerging Filmmakers Competition. Each filmmaker receives a camera and bursary donated by RBC. The films are created based on a pre-determined topic. This year's theme is water. The top five films will be judged during the 2010 Festival by online voters and an official jury.

Along with invaluable international exposure, cash prizes will be awarded for the top two juried films as well as a Fan Favourite Award. The jury's winner will receive $15,000; honourable mention will receive $10,000; and the Fan Favourite Award will be awarded $5,000.

Congratulations to all 25 participants of the 2009 TIFF Talent Lab. We wish you all the best at the RBC Emerging Filmmakers Competition next year. Every great artist starts somewhere and RBC is happy to offer a helping hand. We like to think of all these emerging filmmakers as a work in progress and we can't wait to see how they turn out.

The names to watch:
Trevor Anderson Denise Blinn Annie Bradley
Jamie M. Dagg Britt Crowley Sonya Di Rienzo
Stephen Dunn Walter Forsyth Sarah Galea-Davis
Gloria Ui Young Kim Michelle Latimer Elizabeth Lazebnik
Ayelen Liberona Paul Matthews Daniel Montgomery
Kazik Radwanski Svet Rouskov Daniel Schachter
Tamara Scherbak Martin Smith Katarina Soukup
Greg Spottiswood Jane Tattersall Ana Valine
David Widdicombe    



See what's new with emerging director Sean T. Murphy


External Links